Just Give Me the Stage

Standard

Hidden backstage behind immense curtains is a great place to be immersed in conversation. A few minutes before sound check is an opportune time to exchange words with a stranger, or, a stranger who will not be a stranger for long.

Black veils stretch from floor to ceiling. They hang sleepily over our conversation, enshrouding it from other ears and eyes. When I saw you, I was surged by the strongest volt of happiness, it shook me a little bit. I spoke your name into the air saturated with excitement. I was unsteadied by the exhilaration of OMG I LOVE STAGES! Oh my GOSH! Look who’s here, betcha I’m in heaven.

SENSORY OVERLOAD. SENSORY OVERLOAD.

Some other indescribable helplessness washes over me like a crashing wave can knock you over when you’re out too deep. “Can’t wait to hear you play. I love jazz.” Jazz is a part of me. Do you mean you love that part of me? And I’m the only person you’ve met who knows who Chris Botti is. A common passion is lit behind these curtains, and with his hand on my shoulder, I think it might be way more than just Chris Botti.

Please: don’t inflict magic on me if I’m the only one experiencing it. I’m just not doing this. Leave me in celibacy of mind. Just give me the stage.

Leave your comment here!

