Warning: Rant Ahead

Standard

Disclaimer: It always turns out badly whenever I start thinking about the fate of my generation and society in general. The following blog contains some verbal brimstone. Know beforehand that I do not come from a disturbed home life. Currently, I’m living in a perfect family. When I say perfect, I mean perfect. The type of perfect you smell in the vineyards after it rains. Also know that I’m a consistently happy kid. You really can’t repress the optimism inside me for long. Perhaps one of the most undying characteristics of my juvenile mind is my blind belief (or hope) that there is a solution for almost every problem. This psychological crutch is rooted in my theism. And I think it’s more than a crutch. Before you read this, know that I love my life for life itself. I’m not in ANY way depressed. Just a little angry. Also know that I’m not neglected. I wasn’t dropped on my head as a child. I’m not a social misfit, I’m only appalled at my generation. Here goes. Seatbelts on everyone! We are expecting turbulence over the gulf of St. Lawrence.

I do not see the logic behind our society’s flippant approval of certain actions. The “perfect life” which media approves is neither sensible, nor functional. How can movies portray an affair as a permissible thing? This is outrageous. Stupid. Completely messed up. Disordered. Besmirched by hormonal drives. It only shows you how deranged the producer’s brain is. Or nonexistent. How blind do you have to be in order to look at the divorce rates in our society and realise that most of them are due to infidelity. HULLO. Don’t you realise that the world does NOT revolve around adults and their clumsy, erratic decisions about who to love next. Don’t you realise that SEX = BABIES. BABIES = RESPONSIBILITY. Welcome to basic mathematics. The world does not revolve around you. Get real. Pull your head out of your navel.

I will vehemently defend my morality until the stars sprinkle out of the sky. You wont shut me up very easily. It is imperative that people think through the consequences of their actions. ALWAYS. WITH NO EXCEPTIONS. However, media glamorizes following your heart. Didn’t anyone tell you you’re more than just your heart? If you follow only your heart you’re stooping to a sub-human level. I would also argue that it’s not just your heart you’re following. You’re following your biological clock. Wake up you doofuses. The world is made of more than just hormones!

I address this blog to my generation, and also to my parents generation.

First, my generation. oh God. Get a grip on life! Pull your head out of the sand and get a grasp on the big picture. Please stop crawling through life gooing and gahhing like you’re stuck in Freud’s phallic stage. Really and truly, I never thought Freud had much credence till I came to high school. Have you ever stopped and wondered what you’re doing? Use your head. The one on the top of your neck. Have you ever gotten to class, after making out with your latest chum, and thought to yourself. Ew. I just made out with something more disgusting than the gunk that comes out of the bottom of an industrial dishwasher which hasn’t the light in sixteen years?
And to all you so called “rebels” who actually amuse the podsnappery out of me… Have you ever noticed that by not conforming to the norm, you’re conforming to some intangible ideal of a “non-norm” which is pre-defined for you by the more radical trendsetters? Haven’t you ever realised that saying, “that’s so mainstream” is actually really common. Mainstream, I dare say.
And the big issue to tackle. Motivation.
No that’s for another night.

Parents: Get real. How about you NEVER complain about your kids EVER again.  Your kids are YOUR FAULT. This includes step-children. Also, it would be a good plan if you paid attention to your kids. You have no clue. Really. You choose to “believe the best of your kids” and completely ignore tell tale signs of problems. I have a friend whose Dad told her “well, I understand that a lot of kids in your school smoke marijuana, and it’s primarily a social thing… So, it’s okay as long as it’s not that often.” Meanwhile, she’s one of the 3-4 times a day stoners. Parents: take a reality check. Kids don’t self-raise themselves you know. Also, it’d be great if you all went through your closet and purged them of the pre-Jurassic items.

Our media is over sexualized. HAVEN’T YOU NOTICED WHAT’S HAPPENING? YOU’RE SITTING BACK AND LETTING YOURSELF BE DEBASED TO THE MOST SUB-HUMAN LEVEL. YOU’RE BEING REDUCED TO A LEVEL OF ONLY PURE ANIMAL INSTINCT. HULLO. TAKE YOUR MIND BACK INTO YOUR OWN HANDS. DON’T JUST BE BRAINWASHED. ? Is any of this sinking in?

Get real. The world is an oyster you need to SHARE with other people. Back to kindergarten everyone! You ought to treat people the way you want to be treated. Contrary to common practise, the golden rule is not like “he who has the gold, rules.”

There is more to life than just self-satisfaction.

2 responses »

  1. Holy crap…that was very true, and intriguing. “Use your head. The one on top of your neck!” SO TRUE. Great post Swissie Mouse 😉

Leave your comment here!

