Raquette

Standard

Today I made a raquette on the slopes, (faire du raquette) otherwise known as SNOWSHOEING! I feel so intrepid now that I’ve finished. It certainly goes onto my ever-elongating list of epic things I’ve done. We started at 9:00 and went till 3:00, which led me to this conclusion: Swiss kids have WAY more stamina than Canadian kids in general. In school in Canada they would never dream of putting their students through this. We complain about running 2K. Try lugging around snowshoes which begin to feel like Viking battle shields, then picture yourself plugging upward on an endless slope. It would never work out, but here, it’s a special day. It’s one day for everyone to go skiing. It’s a giant field trip for the entire school. They all look forward to going skiing for the day. Given the choices between skiing and snowshoeing, approximately 50 out of 2000 students chose snowshoeing.

We snowshoed up the mountainside of Crans-Montana. We kept mounting for a long, LONG while. It took forever. It was quite a psychological expenditure on my behalf to not know where we were going, or for how long. It was an enforced type of ‘living in the present’. Then a prof told us “only 400 meters of mounting left!” yay! Finally! Wait, how far have we mounted so far? It had been 300 meters of ascension that far, not including walking 200 meters to the mountain before the ascension. ugh. I’m so finished. Then you regret expending energy to groan.

Maybe I’ll take up meditation. It would help me develop better focus. I think it’s a useful skill to be able to focus your mind in a way that you can take greater advantage of your body. Whenever you think of how you’re getting tired, and begin extrapolating to figure out how much energy you’ll need later, you lose your energy faster. It’s true. I know, because I did that today. However, it was a ton of fun. I really loved it. I got a sunburn on my face and chest, and brown on my arms. It was technically 20 degrees, but in the sun, it felt excruciatingly higher than 20.

Descending was a bit fear-installing at first, but I overcame that relatively quickly when I learned just how to slosh around on the way down. It got easier, despite my almost taking faceplants. I need more focus.

This video shows the people in a “rapid descent“. The prof asked me and my friend to descend a third down the slope before the rest of the group, and video them coming down.

For the life of me, I don’t understand why girls scream. Maybe I don’t get it because I’ve never been capable of screaming. I guess it comes down to a lack of personal experience. From the information I’ve gathered, I suppose that girls scream when they 1) are frightened. 2) lose control. 3) both 1 and 2. or 4) any other reason, really. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing. It’s only a thing which I don’t understand. When I encounter any of the above situations, the maximum you might get out of me is a gasp. MAX. What does screaming do anyways? It alerts the people around you, yes, but what are they going to do? Maybe it’s better to have a look around you at your surroundings, to figure out what to do? Maybe it’s better to pay attention to your micromovements and get your balance back? I wondered this today. It seems that nothing I do is untrodden by the philisophical-thought-footprints.

My dad packed me lunch today, which included:
2 sandwiches
-with pickles, ham, and 2 layers of cheese
2 iced teas
1 granola bar
1 apple
1 banana
2 chocolate bars
4 cookies
AND I finished it all. My friend also gave me a cow. TRUE STORY: she was looking for a goat, but couldn’t find one as she ran out of the house, so she thought that a cow would have to suffice.

We took a break at a plateau. I took many photoes. [By the way I hope everyone knows that when I misspell photos I do it intentionally every time. EVERY TIME. If you had foes, wouldn’t you want to have their toes? It’s rooted in the psychological evolution of humankind. The same sin nature which caused us to parade our enemies’ heads on poles also causes us to misspell foe-toes.] While I’m taking pictures, the other students are nonchalantly texting. To me it seems irreverent to text on a mountainside when this is the view:

At the top of the mountain, there was a little diner. They served us hot wine. It was almost scorching hot. It was perfect for us weary sojourners.

The people who work at the diner at the top of the mountain commute like this:

You can’t possibly count all the mountaintops. It’s unreal.

Leave your comment here!

