Pierre Gianadda Museum

Standard

I’ve dipped my toes into Life of Pi. I read a third of it today, and I’m loving it. I’m usually a little apprehensive about the books that I’m being forced to read, but it’s not bad at all. I’m liking it. I sat outside in the sun reading it today. The morning was beautiful here, in the afternoon it started to rain. It’s the first time in 4 weeks here that we’ve had rain. It’s a dry climate. Some parts of the book are SO hilarious. He starts talking about how Hindus are like hairless Christians, who are like hat-wearing Muslims, who are like bearded Hindus. You can get away with all sorts of things in fiction. I mean, that’s neither logical nor politically correct, but it made me laugh today. Good times. This is what he writes about atheists and agnostics, [peculiar lot]:

“I felt a kinship with him. It was my first clue that atheists are my brothers and sisters of a different faith, and every word they speak speaks of faith. Like me, they go as far as the legs of reason will carry them–and then they leap. I’ll be honest about it. It is not atheists who get stuck in my craw, but agnostics. Doubt is useful for a while. We must all pass through the garden of Gethsemane. If Christ played with doubt, so must we. If Christ spent an anguished night in prayer, if He burst out from the Cross, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” then surely we are also permitted doubt. But we must move on. To choose doubt as a philosophy of life is akin to choosing immobility as a means of transportation.”    -Yann Martel Life of Pi

Today my parents took me to the Pierre Gianadda Museum in Martigny. It was awesome! My other siblings didn’t want to go, so they stayed home. [Parents all to myself! Woohoo!] It was what I would rank as a cool museum. No bones about it, there were no skeletons and zoological relics of that sort which aren’t interesting (not for me anyhow). There were ruins from the ancient Romans, and pieces of things from that era. There was the art of Picasso, Van Gogh, Cezanne, even a self-portrait by Bacon. There was also many, many paintings by important 17th century French and Italian painters whose names I really should have recognized. I felt so legit seeing all the paintings by Picasso. I’m in Europe where they keep the real stuff. You can keep the Mammoth teeth, Canada, we have paintings from the Renaissance. Then there was the outdoor part where they kept sculptures. There was a massive thumb! It was over 10 feet tall. It was intense! It was cool walking outside in the rain through the bamboo.

This is the well known sculpture by Rodin. I saw the real thing myself! C’etait tellement cool!

This is the self-portrait of Francis Bacon. Maybe he could stick to science? Darn those Renaissance men. Worse than multi-instrumentalists. I will confess to pondering the “should I/shouldn’t I” of self-portraiture.

Good old Picasso.

This is the big thumb.

Underneath the museum there were classic cars. “Classic” meaning EXACTLY like the movies. There were probably 60-70 of these. There were the different models produced in Switzerland, and a few from France, Belgium, Italy and the likes.

It was basically like one big candy store.

They don’t really celebrate St. Patrick’s day here. They have St. Joseph’s day tomorrow. Everyone has the day off school and work. Awesome. Who would have known that Christianity being the conquering religion would mean pagan holidays becoming days for Saints which would mean more holidays? This is boss! I was able to explain to my family the ins and outs of St. Patty’s with a little help of facebook pictures. So. These are my friends drunk pictures. Always priceless.

Leave your comment here!

