Le Meilleur Jour

Standard

I had an awesome day today. Recap:

I woke up to the sound of my Pops waking me up, with some time in advance to get ready. I ate hazelnut yogurt with crunchy chocolate cereal. I looked out the open window over the misty vineyards, with two castles rising through the fog. Does life get any better than this?

When I got to school, I had a German class for the first 45 minutes of the day. German class for me means no class, because I’m not allowed to go to them. I read Hamlet in the cafeteria instead.

After that I had one class of Geography. Then we saw a play for the last 2 classes of the morning. It was entirely in English, about Shakespeare. It was so cool to see how effectively they introduced so much about Shakespeare to ESL people. They acted out Hamlet, A Midsummer Nights Dream, Titus Andronicus, and others whose titles escape me right now. It was awesome! ūüėÄ It left me feeling like I should read the entire works of Shakespeare over the next four years. I’m aiming a little high. The chances of me sticking it through all the works of Shakespeare are¬†slim. I would need to gain a lot of literary stamina before that.

Wednesday afternoons I have no school. It’s a beautiful thing here. Wednesday afternoons free! It’s the time when people do most of their extra-curricular jobs. Some students take this afternoon for work. The day which you have off depends on the stream or¬†grade¬†you happen to be¬†in. I spent this afternoon in town with two other Canadian girls. We had a good time, buying chocolate for our families, and stuff like that. It was especially amusing being in stores, speaking in French to the cashier, explaining a little bit¬†about how we’re Canadians and all our friends want chocolate. There’s something specious about being three girls jabbering in another language, each checking out 60-70 Francs worth of chocolate. Besides, this is Switzerland, it’s normal to make small talk with people. Legit – you say bonjour¬†to everyone, except if you’re in the city and there are tons¬†of people. Then my buddies asked me, with a tone of disdain, “why are you talking in French? You know you don’t have to right?” PARCE¬†QUE J’AI¬†LA CAPACIT√Č! ET PARCE¬†QUE JE¬†SUIS¬†EN SUISSE! POURQUOI AUTREMENT¬†? Vous¬†n’avez¬†aucune¬†raison. Let’s get this straight, you two have been in French immersion for how many years of your lives, and I started learning French just over a year ago. You both feel happy when agreeing with each other that your accents are worse than mine.

For the life of me, I will never understand why people can get together into groups and collectively make themselves feel better about the failure which they have talked themselves into. How is it possible to sink to the lowest common denominator just for the sake of harmony with the other person? Especially when your perception of the lowest common denominator is much lower than the actual? Ok. So fail. Go out there, and screw up ALL your sentences, grammar, pronunciation. Let it be horrible. But for goodness sakes! TRY!

I got home, then went for a little walk around the lake two minutes away from my house! This is a really beautiful part of the world I’ve been living¬†in. I love to walk here whenever I need to clear my head.

This is the reflection in the lake.

2 responses »

  1. You know Nadine, coming from a recovering perfectionist over here, there is something to be said for trying. I think the reason why a lot of people never push to find out their capabilities is because they’re afraid of failing. It’s a legitimate concern, but when you really look at it – being afraid to fail is setting you up to fail if you’re not trying to find new ways to succeed. I do more thinking about this stuff than should be humanly reasonable. But I’m not the only one. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it and it struck a chord in you! ūüėÄ

    And… old people and raisins. Um. I’m not too sure where that connection came from originally, all I know is that it has set in with an eery permanence. It really sucks. Raisin Bran? That sounds like old people bran to me and I find the thought yucky if not morally reprehensible! Anyhow, woe is me. I should start telling myself – it’s just dried fruit. just dried fruit. Yes, that’s all. DRIED FOOT? WHAT? NOOOOOO and as you see, any progress I may have made is LOST. It’s futile.

  2. I’ve been staring at my laptop screen mindlessly for some time now. The reason for that is mostly because I’m not quite sure how I should collect my thoughts to formulate some way of writing it down so that it would make sense to another person’s brain.

    Which took some time since my brain works in odd and wondrous ways.

    The other reason why I’m currently staring blankly at my screen is because of one of the comments you made got me thinking. That should make you feel honoured because it’s normally hard for something to make me sit down and think.

    “Ok. So fail. Go out there, and screw up ALL your sentences, grammar, pronunciation. Let it be horrible. But for goodness sakes! TRY!”

    This statement was the thing that made me sit and ponder the meaning of life in case you were wondering.

    Thinking back on my eight-teen years of life, recalling the many conversations with friends and hearing the conversations of others, made me realize just how true that statement is. Why don’t people strive to do their best? It’s one thing if you try, but crash and burn while trying, because you can say that at least you DID try. The sad fact is that most people don’t try anymore, and those that do try get labeled as over-achievers, and are sometimes even ridiculed for trying. We lower our standards, degrade ourselves and for what? To fit in? Laziness? There’s no logical reason for why people stopped striving to do their best. It’s sad to think that many people don’t realize their true potential because of their lack of effort; that people are content with doing the bare minimum to get by.

    *sighs*

    It seems a little odd now to think that I came to this blog planning on commenting on a certain entry that mention an eerie connection between old people and raisins, but ended up going on a rant about society.

    Oh well, venting is good for you.

    Anyways, that’s enough from me now. Venting takes up energy, and what better way to restore energy than by sleeping?

    Peace out.

    – Nadine P.

Leave your comment here!

