Dirge of the Homeless

Standard

As many of you know, my living situation has been very uncertain for a while. I’ve been one step away from homeless, but taken in by relatives and those with extra goodness in their hearts. My most recent caregiver told me that there was no difference between homeless people and us in God’s eyes. To be honest, I too would rather pretend I wasn’t related. This has been an invaluable experience and I have learned a lot.

But now I announce to you that my homeless days are over! 😀 I’m happy to be moving (up in the world). With this new environment, I will need to put extra effort into making up what I’m going to be doing without.

I’m going to have to find something to replace the exciting stream of job opportunities such as playing piano every Sunday at a local chapel, or caring for expiring humans and keeping them company in the final stretches of their lives, or driving people back and forth from the hospital with hopes of attaining a medical profession.

I will have to find a way to cope with the absence of career advice, that I ought to pursue a noble profession such a morticianship. After all, when times get tough, (and we all KNOW we’re living in the last days), people will stop paying for art, but they will still pay to have their dead taken care of.

I will have to survive without the constant questioning: what are you planning on doing with a music degree anyway? (ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. I’M GOING TO GO FUCKING DEPOSIT IT IN AN ATTRACTIVE TRASH CAN, SAYING “THANKS FOR IMPOVERSHING MY DAD” AND I WILL GO BECOME A MERCENARY. AND IF I CAN’T GET HIRED AS A MERCENARY, I’LL BE A SELF-EMPLOYED MERCENARY. OR I’LL JOIN A CONVENT. OR I’LL BECOME A GOLDDIGGER. THE POSSIBILITIES ARE ENDLESS!). I would like to express my most heartfelt gratitude to those who have shown their concern about my future.

Another thing I won’t miss is reading Proverbs under duress every day. And as that pithy book mentions on three different occasions, it’s better to dwell on the corner of a housetop than in a house with a contentious woman.

But it’s been a good ride. Thanks for the memories. I will be glad to be moving into my own space. The prospect of organizing my stuff is an exciting one. I’m really going to enjoy running my life as sensibly as possible. 😀

I must close with this (modest) proposal. If anyone is still interested in putting my picture on their fridge and sending me $30 a month, I will most certainly be willing to write you letters in a foreign language telling you how my schooling is going.

Leave your comment here!

